Zettelkasten Forum

Greetings from a PhD student!

Hi everyone!

I’ve been lurking for a while now but thought it was time to post and say hello. I’m a PhD student in Archaeology, and I stumbled upon the world of Zettelkasten while trying to find a better way to make notes at the start of my PhD.

I’ve jumped around quite a few different tools over the past year but there’s always been something that’s got in the way - apps were either too bloated or complicated or too buggy, or in some cases had awful font rendering.

My most recent favourite was iA Writer, and I think I was so attracted to it because I’ve learnt that I want something simple, minimal and distraction free.

For me, most options people seem to be using have too many bells and whistles and I want something that just gets out the way and leaves me with my text. iA Writer fit this bill perfectly but I found moving between notes and linking too cumbersome.

SO I’ve purchased The Archive this week and I absolutely love it! Just as minimal and “clean” but with ease of navigation built in.

I’m still in the process of getting familiar with The Archive but it seems to do everything I want it to. Before I was using subfolders but I’m thinking that I’m happy to lean in and just put all my notes in a single folder, and use tools like structure notes and other forms of hypertext to maintain connections and groupings where necessary.

The only thing I’m currently unsure of is how much to keep in my Zettelkasten. For example, my primary use case is academic writing, but I also want to keep notes relating to more personal topics of interest, e.g. notes about personal development, note taking, language-learning, etc. I’m not sure whether to combine everything or whether to keep my other interests separate.

Anyways, looking forward to learning more from you all and getting to grips with the method and The Archive in greater depth. Thanks for all the wisdom I’ve already gained from the forums!

Comments