Zettelkasten Forum

Metadata: embedded or not?

On another forum, someone questioned me about the practice of embedding tags and other note metadata in the text of the note vs relying on the management software that I use for my Zettelkasten. I didn't have a conclusive answer. The questioner's issue with the practice was that the software application maintains a robust record of all the note metadata that I would embed in the note in YAML. But the counterargument is that embedding metadata as YAML allows the note to be more portable should I choose to use a different software application to manage my notes. I'm on the fence. Am I missing some other important argument for the practice?

Professionally I'm a collaborative pianist & chamber music coach,

Comments

• "...the counterargument is that embedding metadata as YAML allows the note to be more portable should I choose to use a different software application to manage my notes." Wins!

What software is the questioner trying to defend?

YAML is used for more than just metadata.
    1. note specific printing parameters
    2. scripting tokenization
    3. hiding stuff

Here is part of a note with my YAML.

I include the note's UUID, the cdate, and my tags when I use them. Tags don't work in the exported notes I share, so not including them makes sense.

One reason for YAML is that the information is centrally located, not scattered around the app or operating system. A second reason for YAML is that the tokens can be formatted in a human-readable format.

The best and most exciting reason for YAML is that it's can be used as tokenization for scripts, shell scripts, and Keyboard Maestro.

Will Simpson
    I must keep doing my best even though I'm a failure. My peak cognition is behind me. One day soon I will read my last book, write my last note, eat my last meal, and kiss my sweetie for the last time.
    kestrelcreek.com

• @Will said:
    YAML is used for more than just metadata.