Zettelkasten Forum

Belated Introduction

After participating in this forum for a couple of weeks, I realized that I have never formally said "hello" or told you a bit about myself.

I'm a semi-retired geological engineer with a life long passion for learning. I haven't restricted myself to just engineering or sciences, but have roamed over a range of subjects that have caught my interest. So - highly trained in a few, narrow areas and self-educated to various levels of competency in many others.

I've also been a voracious reader of fiction and non-fiction all my life, from as early as I can remember. In the process, I've picked up a number of techniques for learning from what I read, and retaining what I have learned. And ten years in university didn't actually hurt that process, either :>)

My interest in knowledge management has been growing, although I probably didn't even have an official name for it. I've always been fascinated by various note-taking methods and apps - how they function and how they store information. I guess it was inevitable that I'd stumble, in a serendipitous way, upon ZK and The Archive. That has certainly upped my interest level and I've found the forum in particular rich with shared experience and knowledge.

By creating a ZK, I hope to capture important experiences and learnings in my life before I forget them, and of course to discover new learnings. I'm not sure, but perhaps ZK will at some point serve as a vehicle for communication with my grandkids and great-grandkids - we'll see if that develops, (haha - my kids think they have already heard all that I have to say - maybe I can surprise myself and them).

I'm happy to have found the ZK community, and if you can tolerate my sometimes simple questions and answers, I hope to continue my involvement with the forum and with you, for a good, long time.

Comments

• my kids think they have already heard all that I have to say - maybe I can surprise myself and them