Zettelkasten Forum

Zettelkasten as a Gestalt?

I want to preface this post by saying that I am an engineer and think like an engineer, so please forgive any lack of appreciation of subtle philosophical or psychological distinctions in the following comment.

I've been reading a lot about Zettelkasten over the past week, so much so that my thoughts and even my dreams are getting saturated with the concept. I was surprised this morning, in that half-dreaming / half-waking-up state, with the question "Is a Zettelkasten a gestalt?" floating in my brain. This was doubly surprising as I probably haven't used that word since my undergrad days and am not overly familiar with it as a concept.

Anyway, I thought I'd put the question out there to everyone and see what thoughts you have on it. Is a (good) Zettelkasten a physical manifestation of a person's gestalt? Is the purpose of a Zettelkasten to more and more accurately and fully represent the gestalt of the person creating it? Does the creation of a Zettelkasten itself contribute to the evolution of the gestalt of a person?

Perhaps some of you who either speak German and/or have a better understanding of psychology could provide greater insight into this issue. The answers may seem mundane to you, but they hold value for me as something that could help turn an interest in Zettelkasten into a real, living structure (which will require a lot of work).

Comments

• Can you provide more context about what your use of "Gestalt" is about? -- In German, it's not a technical term but an everyday term that you can use similar to "silhouette" and "appearance" and "form", so that doesn't help :) I know that there's a thing called Gestalt psychology, but I wouldn't know how to interpret the question

"Is a Zettelkasten a gestalt?"

in any useful way.

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• @ctietze said:
    Can you provide more context about what your use of "Gestalt" is about?