Zettelkasten Forum

Gap between wish for simplicity when writing zettels and need for rich text in academic texts?

As I see it, there is a potential gap between the wish for simplicity when writing zettels, and the need for options and tweeks when writing longer academic texts. I will try to explain what I mean.

The philosophy behind zettelkasten is basically trying to extend our limited human cognitive ability through distributed cognition. The (simple) ideas we get are externalized so that we humans can focus on what we are better than the computers at: finding creative links between these (simple) ideas, and through these creative links come up with new (more evolved) ideas.

Now, if you are an academic like me (I am a PhD student) at one point or another, you need to write a longer essay or thesis in which you set out by defining research questions and a suitable methodology. What is given then is that the output requires a rich text file in which the metadata of the resources we have used should be included.

So, from the ideas we get, and how we link them, to the new ideas and how we use them... moving on to finalizing a thesis, which are the steps involved here and what strategies and tactics should we use? This is the essential question.