Zettelkasten Forum

Academic in the humanities, plus some reflections as a beginner in ZT

Hello all! I've been lurking a bit, but finally decided to make an account to say hi.

I'm a graduate student in the humanities, and I've just started to implement the Zettelkasten system for my dissertation research. I came across the ZT method through the DevonThink forums and am using DT as my ZT storage system.

I started my ZT about three weeks ago, and as I've had a problem in the past thinking too much instead of putting things into action, I've just dived right in. I've mostly used ZT to collect notes and insights from research, with the idea that it would help me with the thinking and writing process later on.

I've failed miserably in the past with various note-taking and organization systems, because I would always get stuck on deciding on categories and where to file certain things. My laptop files, for example, are currently a mess with uncategorized files on my desktop, documents, and downloads even though I have a somewhat organized file system. As for my notes, it was the retrieval process that was most difficult. I've often had trouble with tags, because I would have multiple versions of the same tag, but with slight variations in phrasing, spelling, hyphens, etc. The lack of predetermined categories really spoke to me as I am a non-linear thinker.