Zettelkasten Forum

Chose what to make zettles on - make it less time consuming

Hi
Context:
I am not working in academia. I have a master in human geography (social science focus). I am reading a lot of modern and classic philosophy. I have been zettling for a year or two.

Problem:
I find myself spending a lot of time typing notes into my ZK... too much time. I am not quite sure that this is the best way to do things, so want to hear how you go about this.

How I read:
When I read it is not by my computer. I have slip of paper in my book, and note page number and thought or quote whenever I find something interesting that gives a new perspective.

How I zettle:
When I am finished with the book I sit down and type my notes into my ZK. When typed, I split them into small notes, relate/link and expand thoughts.

Maybe one of my problems is that I don't read for writing anything or with any specific project in mind. So I find lots of different bits in the text interesting and produce many notes.

Maybe I am not selective enough? but how to be more selective without loosing valuable content.

I feel that typing takes too long time and are not productive but I don't really see how to get around it. Any one had a similar thoughts? how do you deal with it?

thanks

Comments

• edited October 2018

I find myself spending a lot of time typing notes into my ZK... too much time.

What is the standard your judgement is based on?

Post edited by Sascha on

I am a Zettler

• It is based on the standard of my own felling. I have a feeling that I put in too much (boring typing) work compared to the expected outcome (making connections/thinking/reading more).

To give a more concrete (but random) example: Nietzche, on the genealogy of morals. app. 170 pages long took me 3 hours of note typing before I could even start the zettel-work.