Zettelkasten Forum

Introduction and Questions

Hi everyone! I'm Joe, a recently graduated master's student working on international security and defense issues. I ran into the zettelkasten system while deep diving for ways to deepen my research, organize my usually jumbled thoughts, and connect my ideas. The zettel process is helpful because most of my work turns into written productsI often readng academic journals and think pieces on military concepts and other international policies.

I just restarted my zettel journey after reading Ahrens' "Smart Notes" and powering through a few Youtube videos. My current focus is figuring out a "good" way to process literature notes. My initial way of creating literature notes would be a two-step process: taking general notes while reading and then finalizing a summary for the "final literature note" to connect with my fleeting notes to create permanent notes.

I'm still a zettel newbie, so how do you process your literature notes? Any recommended readings about the topic? I look forward to engaging with everyone and learning more about the zettelkasten system!

Comments

• When I read academic journals and think pieces, I mark them up with marginalia and highlight key ideas. I then transfer those markings to a note. The example below is in its first rough draft and sits intermingled in my ZK but corraled with the "#proofing" tag. I read this article last night and have yet to refactor any of the highlights. Refactoring will be done in place. This note will eventually have fewer words. It will contain links to child ideas and related notes within my ZK. The tags/keywords will change, and the title may evolve. I'll attach this note to an existing hub or structure note and create a one-line summary of the key idea.