Zettelkasten Forum

Hello and THANK YOU

David here. I am a church pastor from New Mexico.

I have spent the last 2 weeks completely obsessed with the concept of a Zettelkasten and how it applies to my work in bible study and preaching. I've read most of the past blog posts and watched all the youtube videos. Both are excellent.

I have spent a fair amount of time converting my plain text note archive previously kept in DevonThink (comprised of points, illustrations, stories, and quotes) into the Zettelkasten format. I am LOVING direct links.

Just wanted to express my gratitude to Christian and Sasha for all their hard work. I am incredibly grateful for all the time you've put into this project and I look forward to being a part of the community.

Comments

• Hi David, I'm interested in your approach to quotes. It looks like each quote is a new entry, with a #quote tag. I would guess you could then search for the specific author, and get a list of their quotes.

Is that right? Have you tried other approaches?

Right now, I'm collecting all quotes from a given author into one note—and have been wondering about the pros and cons of this system.

What about others? How do you all approach it?

Thanks!

• @micahredding said:
    It looks like each quote is a new entry, with a #quote tag. I would guess you could then search for the specific author, and get a list of their quotes.

Is that right? Have you tried other approaches?

Hi Micah,
    Yes one quote per note. Years ago, I had longer notes with lots of quotes in them, but I have since moved everything to one quote per note. It's more flexible and I believe it adheres to the One Thought Per Note method. The advantage the this is I can tag and/or link to a specific quote that pertains to a topic, but if it was just one of many quotes in a larger note, I could only link to the whole collection which would be less valuable.