Zettelkasten Forum

Hello Zettelnerden

(please pardon my intentionally horrible deutschlish)

Hi, my name is Steen. I've been using something similar to a Zettelkasten since before I understood what that is. Since finding additional information about Zettelkasten from this site as well as a few other resources, I've restructured my system into something more traditionally Zettel like. It is, of course, a constant work in progress.

I'm a writer, primarily of science fiction. I also write a bunch of other stuff, including a newsletter in which I talk about stuff like machine intelligences in relation to ritual magic. I'm trying to make writing for tabletop or video games my day job, but at the moment I still make most of my money doing production (lights, sound, video, etc) for night clubs and other venues.

I've been constantly on the lookout for a set of methodologies for task and project management that work for me as a writer. Things like GTD and MYT are generally designed for people with easily quantifiable work, such as one finds in office jobs or programming. However, what are the quantifiable next steps in something like "Write the Novel"? It's inherently nebulous work, and making sense of it is very challenging. I have built (am constantly building) out of plain text files a system that allows me to combine the ideas that I am working on with specific actionable items. The Zettelkasten system is an integral part of this. To rephrase: I'm using Zettelkasten for both idea and project management, and it's working well so far.

I'm sure I'll talk more about that later, and I look forward to sharing ideas with you all.

Cheers,
-- Steen

Comments

• Hi Steen, and welcome! :) The newsletter cross-over between ritual magic and machine intelligence sounds intriguing. Mind sharing your website or newsletter info publicly?

Author at Zettelkasten.de • https://christiantietze.de/

• Hi Steen,